top of page
Image by Ross Parmly



Max 90 Day Trip with Passport

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are permitted to stay in Costa Rica for 90 days without a visa:

Germany, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, United States,Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Principality of Monaco, San Marino, Puerto Rico, Serbia, South Africa, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Czech Republic, Republic of South Korea, Hellenic Republic (Greece), Romania, Vatican City, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Republic of China (Taiwan), Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay.

Max 30 Day Trip with Passport

Citizens holding valid passports from the following countries are allowed to stay in Costa Rica for 30 days without a visa, though once in the country:

Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Bolivia, Dominica, El Salvador, Philippines, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern Marianas, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Maldives, Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Kingdom of Tonga, Samoa, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Suriname, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

Visa Required

Citizens from the following countries must obtain a Visa from a Costa Rican embassy or consulate before arrival, for a maximum of 30 days:

Albania, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Benin, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Negara Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bhutan, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Colombia, Cóte d'Ivore, Comoros, Chad, Ecuador, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Russian Federation, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Libia, Lebanon, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Qatar, Saharahui Arab Republic, Central African Republic, Republic of Macedonia, Republic of The Congo, Democratic Republic of The Congo, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Dominican Republic, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Thailand, Tanzania, Tajikistan, East Timor, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukrain, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Yemen, Djibouti, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Restricted Visa Needed

Citizens from the following countries must obtain a Restricted Visa from the Costa Rican General Director of Migration, consulted by a Costa Rican embassy or consulate before arrival:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cuba, Haiti, Iran (Islamic Republic Of), Iraq, Myanmar (Birmania), Palestinan Territory, Syrian Arab Republic, Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea, Somalia, Sri Lanka. Custom regulations

Additional Info

No customs duties are charged on personal luggage, which includes an array of items for personal and professional use, as long as they do not appear in quantities that suggest commercial intent. Costa Rican law requires that baggage be examined and that travelers submit customs declarations listing all articles acquired abroad, including fruit, vegetables, meat or meat products, biological products such as vaccinations, serums, etc. Families traveling together need to fill out only one declaration for all family members.

Image by Fabio Fistarol




bottom of page